When do oats in food not need to be bolded on an ingredients list under PEAL?

Gluten is one of the most common allergens in the Australian food supply. As a result, the Plain English Allergen Labelling (PEAL) laws that exist under the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code require cereals containing gluten to appear bolded in an ingredients list, subject to important exemptions. This article explains the interaction between gluten and oats under the PEAL laws, including whether there are situations where oats do not need to be bolded, as well as the important differences between declaring gluten as an allergen and making a voluntary ‘gluten free’ claim.